Vincy C.C. are FLOW Superfast T20 Champions, 2016

on Monday, 16 May 2016. Posted in Cricket

Vincy C.C. are FLOW Superfast T20 Champions, 2016

the memory of A.O. Shirley was celebrated with the most exciting FLOW Superfast T20 League Final in recent history and with hundreds of fans looking on as the Vincy C.C. lifted the Premier League Championship on Sunday 15th May, 2016 at Greenland, with a 4 wicket win over Greneda.

Asking the defending Champions to bat first the Vincy tore into the top of the batting line up, reducing them to 17-5. However Raymond Charles then began a rebuilding exercise for Greneda.

His 51 was the mainstay of what became a defendable total of 149 all out, which also included 21 from Emmanuel Charles, 22 from Conde Tala and an unbeaten 28 from Trent Belfon.

Denron Maloney finished with 4-28, Brent Defreitas 3-16 and McTair James 2-28.

In reply the Vincy seemed hell bent on throwing it all away as they slumped to 52-6, before Defreitas and Monty Butler combined to steer their team home under a setting sun and as the large Vincentian contigent began to sing and dance in celebration.

Defreitas finished with a Man of the Match winning 60 not out and Butler 41 not out.

Garry Pierre picked up 2-26 and Rodney Marryshow 2-34 for the Greneadiens who threw everything at the Vincy in an attempt to pull off what would have been a stunning victory. However the Vincy, who so very nearly were relegated in the regular season, added a fairy tale ending to the season, beating the Cavaliers, the Royal Knights and ultimately Greneda, in some style, to lift the A.O. Shirley Shield.

“I am very excited” commented Defreitas “A lot of people had written us off, but we came out today and played good cricket from the time we won the toss. We stuck to our plan and it was great that myself and Monty were there at the end to see us home.”

Richard Fredericks (339) took home the Most Runs Award, Earl Prescott and Rodney Marryshow shared the Most Wickets (14) award and Marryshow was Man of the Tournament.

In Division One

RTW duly claimed their place as not only Champions, but also as the side promoted to the Premier League next season, with a 63 run victory over Virgin Gorda United.

Batting first, RTW took advantage of some dropped catches to post 261-3, led by a magnificent 146 from Austin McDowall and an unbeaten 64 from Joel Williams.

The pair put on 148 before McDowall was out in the 20th over.

In reply VG put up a spirited run chase despite the huge target and reached 198-7, led by 45 from Stanley Joseph, 39 from Denis Allister and 37 from K. Benjamin.

Roy Caine and Curtis Jack picked up two wickets each.

Division MVP, Man of the Match, Leading Run Scorer (430) and winning Captain, Austin McDowall was pleased with the way the team had performed “everything is a result of training hard, preparing well and coming out to play our cricket”

Most Wickets (12) was shared between Kevin Sillchand and Curtis Jack