Cavaliers win A.O. Shirley Shield at FLOW Cricket Finals

on Tuesday, 09 May 2017. Posted in Cricket

Cavaliers win A.O. Shirley Shield at FLOW Cricket Finals

For a while on Sunday, the 7th June 2017, it looked like the Cavaliers decision to bat first in the Final of the FLOW Superfast LTE 20/20 Premier Division, against the Royal Knights had backfired.

Reduced to 75-4 and then 100-5, the Royal Knights were in charge of proceedings, but then made the cardinal of cricketing errors by dropping catches and letting Dromar Toney of the hook.

From the perils of being dismissed cheaply, the team rebuilt with Toney joined by Aaron Baker and the next wicket only falling in the penultimate over, with the score 208. Baker (30) finally fell to a run out, but Toney remained unbeaten on 88 to close out the innings on 208-8.

The pick of the Knights bowlers, Anthony Slowly with 3-37.

In reply the Knights lost two quick wickets to set back the chase, before Richard Fredericks and Joel LaFleur put on 51 for the 3rd wicket. La Fleur fell for 22 and although the chase was always up with the required run rates, wickets tumbled at crucial times, to set up a thriller of a finish.

At 165-6 with just over 5 overs to go, it looked like the Knights would get over the line, then Murray Ollivierre ran himself out, Reno Mittzelholder was trapped in front and Jamal Mickle was out for 32, leaving the score 189 – 9 with 3 overs left.

Runs were eked out by the last pair, before Arron Baker took the crucial wicket and secured the Cavaliers victory by 7 runs.

Man, of the Match was Royston Duggins who took 5-41 to undermine the chase. He was also the leading wicket taker across the premier division.

Steve Shivprasad took most catches (7) and Joel Lafleur, both of Royal Knights, was highest run scorer (307). However, the Trophy that really mattered, the A.O. Shirley Shield, belonged firmly in the hands of the Cavaliers.

The Division One Final was also a tense affair, finally won by the Vikings, who return to the Premier League for 2018.

They beat Under the Tree by 11 runs, having decided to bat first and posted 165 all out, with Dave Pyroo top scorer, 31.

Terrence Ward and Kevin Doyley both picked up 3 wickets as Under the Tree would have been the happier team at the half way point. However, the Vikings then bowled with discipline to restrict them to 154 all out, despite a fine 62 by Emerald Prince, who was the highest run scorer in the division (369) and hit the most sixes (26) throughout both divisions to be awarded a special trophy courtesy of Karen Bobb.

Man of the Match went to Vaden Walker who finished with 3-24.

Most wickets was claimed by Shem Ellis with 13 and most catches shared between Akeem Hendrikson and Terry Nanton with 5 each.